Yangpaiboon, Prucksakorn, Yadav, Gundegmaa book Tokyo berths

Doha, Qatar: Thailand's Naphaswan Yangpaiboon won the women’s 25 metres pistol final at the Asian Shooting Championships in Doha to book her berth at the Tokyo Olympics.

Tanyaporn Prucksakorn, also of Thailand, India’s Chinki Yadav and Mongolia’s Otryadyn Gundegmaa also bagged Tokyo berths after having entered the final, as two Chinese and two Koreans had already won the quota. 

Yangpaiboon won the event with a score of 36, Gundegmaa finished second with 33, while China’s Zhang Jingjing took home bronze after scoring 28.

Yadav, who finished sixth in the event, won India’s second Olympic quota in her category following Rahi Sarnobat’s triumph at the ISSF Munich World Cup earlier this year.

In the men’s 25m standard pistol event, China’s Yao Zhaonan triumphed with 578 points. India’s Udhayveer Sidhu took silver with 577 points and South Korea’s Han Daeyoon came third with 572. There was also success for China in the women’s 50m rifle prone event, Wan Xiangyan taking the gold medal with 627.2 points. South Korea’s Lee Eunseo was the runner-up with 625.1 points and was followed in the standings by Malaysia’s Nur Suryani Mohamed Taibi with 622.2.

In the equivalent men’s event, Kazakhstan’s Konstantin Malinovskiy won with 625.1 points. Completing the top three were China’s Liu Gang and Li Xinmiao, with points totals of 623.8 and 623.6 respectively.

Related Articles

Back to top button