CricketOther Sports

Flying Oryx, Desert Riders win in Qatar T10 Cricket League

Doha, Qatar: Captain Hussain Talat starred with an unbeaten 59 as Flying Oryx thrashed Pearl Gladiators by nine wickets in the first match of the Qatar T10 Cricket League at the Asian Town Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Earlier, Qatar Cricket Association President Yousef Jeham Al Kuwari presided over the opening ceremony and unveiled the trophy. 

“We are very proud to launch the T10 league, which is the second biggest in the world with players from nearly all major cricket playing nations present here," said Al Kuwari.

"This is the first time for us to host so many international players. We are committed to improving the league and making it a huge success in future,” he added.

Also present on the occasion were International Pro Event CEO Sajjad Chaudhry and other QCA officials.

Meanwhile on the pitch, put in to bat first, Pearl Gladiators could only make 83 for five.

Faisal Javed, who opens for the Qatar national team as well, top-scored with 27. Naved Malik grabbed two wickets for 26 and Harmandeep Singh got one for 11.

Captain Hussain Talat was in sizzling form as Flying Oryx stormed to the target with 14 balls to go.

On Sunday, Mohamed Tanvir scored an unbeaten 49 as Desert Riders handed a seven-wicket defeat to Swift Gallopers.

Brief scores

Pearl Gladiators 83 for five (Faisal Javed 27 in 26 balls, Adnan Ilyas 18 in 8 balls; Naved Malik 2/26, Harmandeep Singh 1/11) lost to Flying Oryx 85 for one in 7.4 overs (Assad Borham 20 not out in 15 balls, Hussain Talal 59 not out in 29 balls) by nine wickets. Man of the match: Hussain Talat (Flying Oryx)

n Swift Gallopers 93 for five (Kamran Akmal 29 in 13 balls, Inam-ul-Haq 16 in 16 balls, Ravinderpal Singh 21 in 14 balls; Sohail Tanvir 2/16, Mohamed Hafeez 2/13) lost to Desert Riders 94 for three in 8.5 overs (Adnan Mirza 23 in 13 balls, Mohamed Tanvir 49 not out in 21 balls) by seven wickets. Man of the match: Mohamed Tanvir (Desert Riders

Related Articles

Back to top button