cyclingdsp magazine

Al Farizi rides his way to glory

MOHAMMED Farhan Al Farizi of Giant RBS won the road race in the eighth round the Royal Air Maroc League at Dukhan last week. 

Al Farizi completed the 80km distance in 2:06:10sec.  Julien Periard of Carbon Wheels came second while Fred Watson (Rasen Velostar) finished third. 

The five month-long Royal Air Maroc (Morocco’s national airline) League comprises 10 legs. Competitions are held in men’s professional (Group A and B), amateur youth and women’s categories in road races and time trials.

The first-place finishers will earn 58 points including 50 for a win, three for podium and five for participation. Eight best scores across the season will be totalled to decide the league winners. 

If more than one competitor has the same score, the rider with the highest number of first places will win the title. 

The winners of each leg will be honoured while leaders in each category will have the honour of wearing the scarlet jersey.

The men’s Group B race was won by Shane Guinan (Rasen Velostar), who clocked 2:15:19sec, while Andrew Tangonan (Pinoy Roadies Qatar) and Merlin Von Frankenberg came second and third respectively. 

The third category, an amateur race, was won by Ronald Allan Alfonso (Pinoy Roadies Qatar, 1:37:24sec) followed by Ahmad Al Subaey (Losail Team) and Revelito Pasion.

Meanwhile, Isora Sosa Caballero (Carbon Wheels) claimed the women’s Group A race while her team-mate Carmel Lord won the honour in Group B. 

Related Articles

Back to top button