2019 fifa club world cup

CF Monterrey arrive in Doha for FIFA Club World Cup

Doha, Qatar: Mexican side CF Monterrey arrived in Doha on Monday ahead of the FIFA Club World Cup 2019. Nicknamed Los Rayados (the Striped Ones), Monterrey qualified for the tournament after winning the CONCACAF Champions League.

The FIFA Club World Cup kicks off on Wednesday, when Xavi Hernandez’s side Al Sadd, the host nation representatives, face New Caledonia’s Hienghène Sport, winners of the OFC Champions League. The match will take place at Jassim bin Hamad Stadium.

The winners of the opening match will then face Monterrey on 15 December at the same stadium, with the prize a semi-final showdown with UEFA Champions League winners Liverpool.

Monterrey booked their spot in Doha by beating arch-rivals Tigres UANL in the CONCACAF Champions League final back in May. This is Monterrey’s fourth appearance in the FIFA Club World Cup, having appeared in 2011, 2012 and 2013 after three consecutive CONCACAF Champions League titles. Monterrey came third in 2012, the team’s best effort so far.

“We are proud to be back at the tournament and facing the world’s best. On our day, we can beat any of the teams competing and will do all we can to make our fans proud. We’re happy to be in Qatar and look forward to exploring some of what Doha has to offer,” said Monterrey’s Argentinian coach Antonio Mohamed.

“Monterrey are a team with a proud history and we feel privileged to host them in Qatar. We all can’t wait to see the team play, and I hope the travelling fans and players enjoy the country and get a taste of the World Cup atmosphere we will offer in 2022,” added the CEO of the FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2019 Local Organising Committee, Nasser Al Khater.

The FIFA Club World Cup 2019 presented by Alibaba Cloud will take place from 11-21 December. The full match schedule is available on FIFA.com. Tickets for the opening match featuring hosts Al Sadd SC and OFC champions Hienghène Sport, as well as for the double header on 17 December, are currently available on FIFA.com/tickets.

In total, seven teams will take part: Al Sadd SC (host country representatives), Liverpool FC (UEFA), CF Monterrey (CONCACAF), ES Tunis (CAF), Hienghène Sport (OFC), Al Hilal (AFC) and CR Flamengo (CONMEBOL).

Related Articles

Back to top button